Return to Curriculum


We teach phonics to all children from Nursery to Year 2 using a systematic synthetic phonics programme called Letters and Sounds.  Letters and Sounds is a phonics resource that was published by the Department for Education and Skills in 2007.  Our phonics lessons allow children to become early readers by segmenting and blending sounds.  The teaching of phonics is progressive as the children move through the different phases.

Progression of Phonics Teaching

Nursery –  Phase 1
Reception – Phase 2 and 3
Year One – Phase 4 and 5
Year Two – Phase 6

For more information or resources for each phase please see the Letters and Sounds website –


How to say letter sounds

This video, ‘Articulation of Phonemes’, will help you to check that you and your child are saying the phonemes correctly.